Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

930

Sometimes things have happened  in my journey through life that I didn’t plan for and, though these occurrences may be frightening at the time, I cannot see them as ‘bad’ because with them comes something or someone good.

Once upon a time

when I was very ill,

Or should that be

once upon a time

when I thought I was going to die.

A man came into my life

and these were the words he said to me

yes

 these were his very words:

He said……

‘I cannot believe that someone who looks as healthy as a trout,

I cannot believe that someone who is as fizzy as an alka seltzer

is going to die today or tomorrow

or anytime soon.

And he sat on my bed

(I was sick remember)

and pulled his guitar across his knee

and played

‘Un dia en noviembre’

by Leo Brower

and he read me poems by Rumi

and he brought me croissants for breakfast

and made me cakes from honey and almonds and pomegranates

to build up my strenght and take the taste of the cancer treatment from my tongue

So

I decided I could be as healthy as a trout and as fizzy as an alka seltzer

today or tomorrow

or sometime soon

and

instead of dying

I got better and I began write and paint again

and he (his job now done) went away.

the end.